[HISTORY: Adopted by the Township Committee of the Township of Middle 8-1-1996 as Ord. No. 969-96. Amendments noted where applicable.]
Mutual Aid Agreement — See Ch. 29.
Personal watercraft are defined as Class "A" vessels by state law and are subject to all regulations which apply to power vessels. The complete regulations and statutes applicable to personal watercraft are contained within Title 12 of the New Jersey Statutes and Title 1 of the New Jersey Administrative Code as the same may be amended and supplemented.
Effective July 1, 1996, it shall be unlawful to:
Operate personal watercraft between sunset and sunrise.
To operate personal watercraft above the idle speed within 50 feet of any shoreline, bathing beach or person(s) in the water.
To operate a personal watercraft in such a way as to make the vessel completely leave the water or otherwise become airborne while operating within 100 feet of another vessel.
Only personal watercraft with a rating capacity of three or more persons shall be permitted to pull a waterskier and then only provided that the personal watercraft is so designed to allow one person to face the rear of the vessel and be capable of observing the waterskier and such person attending to and observing the waterskier must be physically located on the personal watercraft and actually observe the skier while the skier is being pulled. All vessels engaged in waterskiing shall keep at least 200 feet away from any marina, bridge, structures, and person(s) in the water and shall keep 100 feet away from shore and other vessels.
It shall be unlawful for any person to operate a personal watercraft unless such person is eligible to do so in accordance with the requirements of state law as that law may, from time to time, be amended and supplemented. In addition:
Any person operating a personal watercraft shall at all times wear a safety engine cutoff lanyard provided that the personal watercraft is equipped with such a switch.
Any person operating a personal watercraft shall proceed at a safe speed at all times so that the vessel can be stopped within a safe distance and effective action can be taken to avoid collision.
Any person operating any vessel, including a personal watercraft, shall be responsible for any damage or injury caused by the wake of such vessel.
The operator of all power vessels, including personal watercraft, shall operate such vessel at a slow speed so as not to cause a wake when passing through bridges.
Any person operating, as well as all passengers on a personal watercraft shall be required to wear a United States Coast Guard approved Type I, II, III or Type V Hybrid personal flotation device when said personal watercraft is underway.
Any person convicted of a violation of this chapter shall be subject to a fine in an amount not less than $100 nor more than $1,000 or imprisonment for a term not to exceed 90 days and/or community service for a term not to exceed 180 days.