[HISTORY: Adopted by the Township Council of the Township of Cedar Grove 9-19-1977 by Ord. No. 77-57. Amendments noted where applicable.]
The purpose of this chapter shall be to provide for parental supervision of minors and establishing penalties for the lack thereof in the Township of Cedar Grove, County of Essex, State of New Jersey.
As used herein, the following definitions shall apply to the following terms:
- Any person under the age of 18 years.
- Either or both parents of a minor, the legal guardian(s) of such minor or any other person(s) having the care of custody of the minor committing the violation of the public peace. However, the term "parent" shall not apply to parents, legal guardians or other persons whose custody and control over such minor has been removed by court order, decree or judgment or military service of such minor.
- VIOLATION OF THE PUBLIC PEACE
- Includes any of the following acts: defacing, damaging or
destroying public or private property of another within the Township
of Cedar Grove; committing an assault and battery upon another in
the Township of Cedar Grove; consuming and/or possessing alcoholic
beverages in a public place in the Township; breaking and entering
or entering without breaking into the property of another with the
intention of stealing money or anything of value; possession and/or
use of a controlled dangerous substance, as the same shall be defined
under Title 24, Revised Statutes of New Jersey; violation of a Township
ordinance; or juvenile delinquency based upon any of the above offenses.[Amended 9-10-2018 by Ord. No. 18-832]
It shall be unlawful for any parent to assist, aid, abet or encourage a minor to commit a violation of the public peace or for the parent to fail or neglect to exercise reasonable supervision and control over the conduct of such minor, as defined herein, either by overt act, by failure to act or by lack of supervision and control over such minor.
[Amended 7-30-1984 by Ord. No. 84-222; 10-23-2006 by Ord. No. 06-656]
Any parent who shall violate the terms of this chapter shall be subject to punishment by a fine not exceeding $2,000 or by imprisonment for a term not exceeding 90 days, or both, in the discretion of the court.