Ventnor City, NJ
Atlantic County
By using eCode360 you agree to be legally bound by the Terms of Use. If you do not agree to the Terms of Use, please do not use eCode360.
Table of Contents
Table of Contents
[HISTORY: Adopted by the Common Council (now Board of Commissioners) of the City of Ventnor City 6-14-1949 by Ord. No. 10-1949. Amendments noted where applicable.]
GENERAL REFERENCES
Amusements — See Ch. 63.
Boardwalk — See Ch. 79.
Criminal records check — See Ch. 100.
Peddling and soliciting — See Ch. 173.
Precious metals and secondhand goods — See Ch. 177.
Taxicabs — See Ch. 205.

§ 149-1 Definitions.

As used in this chapter, the following terms shall have the meanings indicated:
BUSINESS
Includes businesses, trades, callings, professions and vocations.
PERSON
Includes persons, firms, copartnerships and corporations.

§ 149-2 License required.

No person shall engage in or carry on any business in Ventnor City nor aid or assist, as employee, clerk or otherwise, in carrying on such business or in using any vehicle, stand, store or other place or thing nor sell or offer for sale any goods or thing for which a license is required by the terms of this chapter, unless a license as herein provided for shall have first been obtained therefor.

§ 149-3 Application for license; license requirements.

[Amended 7-6-1970 by Ord. No. 11-1970]
A. 
Application for license shall be made to the City Clerk of Ventnor City, and no license shall be granted until the payment therefor has been made. Every license shall specify by name the person to whom issued, the business for which it is granted and the location at which such business is to be carried on.
B. 
No license shall be granted until the Electrical Subcode Official, Building Subcode Official, Plumbing Subcode Official, Board of Health and Fire Marshal have certified in writing to the City Clerk that the applicant has complied with all ordinances and regulations respecting protection of life and property relating to such place.
C. 
No license certificate shall be issued to any person who has not complied with the laws of the State of New Jersey or the ordinances of the City of Ventnor City providing regulations respecting the safety of persons who may have occasion to use the premises, place or thing licensed; and in case any person licensed fails to comply with such laws or ordinances after the due notice of 10 days and an opportunity to be heard within 10 days thereafter, the Board of Commissioners of the City of Ventnor City and the City Clerk may revoke said license. No license provided for by this chapter shall be transferred from one person to another, and no license shall cover any other place of business other than that for which it was issued.

§ 149-4 Payment of fees; expiration of licenses.

All license fees shall be due and payable to the City of Ventnor City at the City Hall, Cambridge and Atlantic Avenues, Ventnor City, New Jersey, on the first day of July in each year, and all such licenses shall expire on the 30th day of June following.

§ 149-5 Fees.

[Amended 6-26-1950 by Ord. No. 9-1950; 6-11-1951 by Ord. No. 6-1951; 6-4-1979 by Ord. No. 7904; 8-16-1983 by Ord. No. 8329; 11-1-1983 by Ord. No. 8338; 4-3-1984 by Ord. No. 8402; 8-15-1985 by Ord. No. 8514; 6-21-1990 by Ord. No. 9014; 11-5-1992 by Ord. No. 9215; 7-23-1993 by Ord. No. 9311; 8-24-1995 by Ord. No. 9517; 11-12-1998 by Ord. No. 9825; 5-19-2004 by Ord. No. 2005-11; 3-20-2014 by Ord. No. 2014-09]
The license fees to be paid annually as above provided to the City of Ventnor City for conducting the businesses herein named at the places to be designated in the license certificate issued therefor or for using any vehicle, stand, store, place or thing or for the type of service herein designated shall be as follows:
Type of Business
Fee
Alteration, tailor shop, dry cleaning, laundry and shoe repair
$50
Antiques and used wares shop
$50
Auction house/store
$1,000
Automatic vending or dispensing machines
$10
Automobile accessories
$50
Automobile agency or saleroom
$150
Automobile garage (with accessories)
$50
Automobile service station (with accessories)
$75
Bakery and pastry shop
$50
Beauty salon/tanning salon/barbershop
$50
Bicycle stores
$50
Boat shop/accessories
$50
Bookstore
$50
Bowling alleys (per alley)
$15
Business offices
$50
Cigars and tobacco shops
$50
Circus
$1,000
Clothing and accessories/jewelry
$50
Confectioners
$50
Craft stores
$50
Department stores
$350
Distributors
$75
Drugstores
$75
Electronics store
$50
Express and freight distribution terminals
$50
Florist
$50
Gas pumps (not connected with garages or service stations), each pump
$20
Groceries, meats and poultry, wholesale
$350
Groceries, retail
$50
Hardware/electrical supplies/painting supplies
$75
Health and fitness
$50
Home furnishings, blinds, awnings (without electronics)
$50
Home occupancy
$50
Ice cream parlor or stand
$50
Laundry (self-service), per machine
$50
Musical instruments/music store
$50
Newspaper publishers
$50
Optical goods
$50
Peddlers and solicitors
$150
Performing arts studios/galleries
$50
Pinball machines, per machine, in conjunction with Ord. No. 4-1948 (see Ch. 63, Art. I)
$20
Print shops
$50
Restaurants/coffee shops
$50
Seafood stores
$50
Ship and boatyard storage/slip and dock rental/marina
$75
Skating rink
$100
Sports equipment/clothing
$50
Stationery/books/magazines/novelty stores
$50
Storage warehouse
$125
Stores not classified
$50
Supermarkets
$350
Taxicab owner license, each cab (see regulations in Ch. 205, Taxicabs, Licensing and Operation of)
$150
Taxicab, vehicle information change administrative fee
$30
Theaters, each projection screen on premises
$150
Travel agency
$50
Undertakers
$50
Variety stores
$50

§ 149-6 Certifications required for certain businesses.

No license shall be granted for any theater, scenic theater, moving-picture show, electric illusion or other exhibition or amusement until the City Electrician, Building Subcode Official and Chief Engineer of the Fire Department certify, in writing, to the City Clerk that the applicant has complied with all the ordinances and regulations respecting protection of life and property relating to such places. The certificate of license shall be conspicuously displayed on the premises where the business is conducted.

§ 149-7 License limited to business for which granted.

[Amended 6-4-1979 by Ord. No. 7904]
No person or persons shall be allowed to transact any business under any license granted under this chapter except the business for which such license was especially granted.

§ 149-8 Compliance required; revocation; transferability.

[Amended 6-26-1972 by Ord. No. 12-1972]
No license certificate shall be issued to any person who has not complied with the laws of the State of New Jersey or the ordinances of the City of Ventnor City providing regulations respecting the safety of persons who may have occasion to use the premises, place or thing licensed, and in case any person licensed fails to comply with such laws or ordinances after due notice and opportunity to be heard, the Board of Commissioners may revoke such license. No license provided for by this chapter shall be transferred from one person to another person, and no license shall cover any other place of business than that for which it was issued. A license may be transferred from place to place upon proper application to the City Clerk, and following inspection and approval by the City Department of Inspections, the City Clerk shall then endorse the address of the new location upon the face of the mercantile license.

§ 149-9 Licenses issued for partial year.

[Amended 2-1-1990 by Ord. No. 9001]
All licenses issued in accordance herewith shall be effective on the date issued, and said licenses shall expire on the 30th day of June following. No license fee shall be reduced or prorated, whether issued for a full or partial year.

§ 149-10 Purpose of fees.

The fees herein imposed for such license are imposed for revenue.

§ 149-11 Traffic control.

Any proper officer is hereby authorized and directed to use such of the police force of the City as is necessary to execute and enforce all necessary and lawful police regulations that may best facilitate the carrying on of the business of cars used for local passenger traffic and as may best protect and facilitate the carrying on of the several businesses, trades and occupations licensed by this chapter.

§ 149-12 Peddling on Boardwalk prohibited.

[Amended 6-4-1979 by Ord. No. 7904]
The license to peddle goods, wares and merchandise, flowers or other articles shall not permit the peddling of such articles upon the Boardwalk, the approaches thereto or upon any platform or building connected with said Boardwalk, on the beach or on any street or sidewalk. Additionally, no peddling or huckstering shall be permitted from trucks on any street or any portion of the Boardwalk, or entrance thereto, within the City of Ventnor City.

§ 149-13 Conditions.

It shall be a condition to the issuance of any and all licenses under this chapter that said business shall be used and operated only for lawful purposes.

§ 149-14 Personal property sales.

Notes
Yard Sale Permit
Created: 2016-11-29
Click for Form
[Added 12-20-1982 by Ord. No. 8237[1]; amended 3-20-2014 by Ord. No. 2014-09]
Any and all persons, individuals, estates, or entities of similar type who seek to have a personal property sale shall be required to register with the City of Ventnor City and pay a fee of $3 for said registration. Personal property sales shall be limited to those persons who are in fact owners of a residential property or occupants of a residential property selling those personal items located in the facility in which said sale is occupying. The sale shall be limited to those items on the premises, and at no time shall any person, individual, estate or entity be permitted to offer for sale any asset that is, in fact, brought to the location in Ventnor City from some other area or jurisdiction. It should be further noted that any such sale shall be limited in duration to two consecutive days. In addition, at no time shall there be more than two sales per year from any one property in said City.
[1]
Editor's Note: This ordinance also renumbered former §§ 149-14, 149-15 and 149-16 as §§ 149-15, 149-16 and 149-17, respectively.

§ 149-15 Violations and penalties.

[Amended 6-4-1979 by Ord. No. 7904; 8-15-1985 by Ord. No. 8514; 2-2-1989 by Ord. No. 8903; 1-9-1997 by Ord. No. 9616]
Any person violating any of the provisions of this chapter shall, upon conviction in the Municipal Court of Ventnor City, be punished for each offense by a fine not to exceed $1,000 daily while each offense exists or by imprisonment for any term not to exceed 90 days in the county jail or in any place provided by the municipality for the detention of prisoners, or both. The Judge before whom any person is convicted of violating this chapter shall have the power to impose any fine or term of imprisonment, not exceeding the maximum fixed in this chapter. In addition to or as a substitute for the previously mentioned fine, the imposition of community service shall be authorized as an additional penalty, which community service shall not exceed 90 days.

§ 149-16 Access required.

[Amended 6-4-1979 by Ord. No. 7904]
Every person conducting a business required to be licensed hereby shall permit the Building Subcode Official or his designee or his accredited agents or assistants to have access to any building or premises for the purpose of ascertaining whether there has been compliance with the provisions of this chapter and other ordinances and to determine the fees to be paid, and any refusal thereof shall be deemed a violation of this chapter and be subject to the penalties provided for herein.

§ 149-17 Construal of provisions.

The provisions of this chapter shall not be construed to amend, alter or repeal the provisions of any ordinance or ordinances establishing license fees for any type of business not included in the provisions hereof.